Greenwich Burglary Lawyer
Timely assistance from an experienced Greenwich burglary lawyer can make a tremendous difference in the outcome of your case. A top criminal defense lawyer can investigate and locate evidence to refute allegations made by the police and help resolve the situation with minimal adverse consequences.
What Is Third-Degree Burglary?
The Connecticut criminal code defines three degrees of burglary and includes additional burglary crimes with aggravating circumstances. The least serious burglary offense, burglary in the third degree, is a Class D felony.
Someone commits third-degree burglary, according to Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) §53a-103, if they enter or stay in a building unlawfully with the intent to commit any crime in that building.
A Greenwich burglary attorney can defend against burglary charges either by showing that the individual accused was in the building lawfully or that the person lacked any intent to commit a crime while in the building. C.G.S. §53a-104 also allows you to fight the charges by showing that a building was abandoned.
If you are convicted of third-degree burglary, you can be sentenced to five years in prison plus a fine of up to $5,000. If you use, display, or threaten to use a firearm, then one year of that imprisonment may not be reduced or suspended.
What Is Second-Degree Burglary?
C.G.S. §53a-102 describes burglary in the second degree. This definition is similar to the description of third-degree burglary with two added factors. The person accused must be entering or remaining in not just any building, but a dwelling. Moreover, the dwelling must be occupied by at least one other person at the time of the break in for the offense to constitute second-degree burglary.
A burglary lawyer in Greenwich can work to fight the charges of this offense by showing that a building was not used as a dwelling or that it was not occupied at the time of the unauthorized entry.
Burglary in the second degree is a Class C felony. The maximum sentence is ten years and the maximum fine is $10,000. If the person committing the burglary is armed with or threatens the use of a firearm, one year of the sentence cannot be suspended.
How Serious Is First-Degree Burglary?
The most serious and complex burglary offense is burglary in the first degree. C.G.S. §53a-101 describes three ways an individual may commit this offense. Entering or remaining in a dwelling unlawfully after dark will constitute first-degree burglary if the person entering or staying in the building lacks authorization and has the intent to commit a crime in the dwelling.
If someone commits the equivalent of third-degree burglary, that is, entering any building without lawful permission and with the intent to commit a crime in the building, and that person recklessly or intentionally tries to or succeeds in harming another person, then the actions can be treated as first-degree burglary.
Finally, if a person enters or stays unlawfully in a building with the intent to commit a crime in that building and they are armed with explosives or a deadly weapon, they may be charged with first-degree burglary.
As a Class B felony, burglary in the first degree is punishable by 1-20 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. Where a dangerous weapon is part of the offense, five years of the sentence is mandatory and cannot be suspended.
Work with an Experienced Greenwich Burglary Attorney
A Greenwich burglary lawyer can work to gather evidence, argue for your rights, and secure the best outcome possible in your case. For an initial consultation to learn more about the possibilities for defense in your case, call Mark Sherman Law now.