How To Make Your Greenwich Connecticut Larceny Shoplifting Case Go Away
Connecticut General Statute § 53a-126b statutes that larceny in the 6th degree occurs any time a person intentionally deprives another person or company of property, but wrongfully taking or withholding the property. For shoplifting to fall under CGS § 53a-126, the total value of the property must be $500 or less.
If you’re arrested for larceny in the 6th degree, here are 3 things you should know:
1. A Shoplifting Defense Attorneys Can Help Keep Your Record Clean
Experienced larceny defense attorneys know that in order for you to be found guilty of shoplifting in Greenwich, the Court must prove that your conduct was intentional. Accidentally forgetting to ring up an item, or carrying something out of the store, does not necessarily mean you’re guilty of larceny in the sixth degree. The best Connecticut shoplifting attorneys can pick apart your police report for any evidence that suggests your conduct was not intentional, and explore other options to ensure you aren’t left with a permanent misdemeanor record.
2. You Don’t Need to Speak to Police without an Attorney Present
We often see clients contacted by the police days or months after a theft allegedly occurred. If officers from the Greenwich Police Department contact you, remember you do not need to speak to them or give a statement without an attorney representing you. Greenwich police officers will try to entice you to answer questions by promising leniency or the avoidance of an arrest altogether—don’t fall for it! Contact a defense attorney as soon as you’re aware that you are the subject of a larceny investigation.
3. Make Sure You Return the Stolen Property As Soon As Possible
If you actually stole items from a Greenwich store and you were arrested for it, then you should talk with your lawyer about making “restitution” as soon as possible. What’s restitution in Connecticut? It’s making the store whole for the costs it incurred during an arrest. This includes returning the stolen items, and paying the store for the time and expenses of working with the Greenwich police during the shoplifting investigation.
You Usually Won’t Serve Time in Jail for Shoplifting
Larceny in the sixth degree is a class C misdemeanor, punishably by three months in prison, up to a $500 fine, and a permanent misdemeanor conviction record. While you may not be sentenced to serve time in prison for a first-time conviction, a misdemeanor conviction can stop you from gaining employment and may even interfere with education prospects.
Contact a Greenwich Shoplifting Attorney Today
If you’ve been arrested for shoplifting in Greenwich, or are currently being investigated by police, call an experienced larceny defense attorney today to talk you through the process and learn how to keep your record clean. The attorneys at Mark Sherman Law are available to speak 24/7 at (203) 358-4700. Click here to read reviews from some of our past clients at Avvo.com