Can I Get Arrested in Connecticut for Gun / Firearms Possession if I Have a Permit in Another State?
Yes. To carry a gun in Connecticut you almost always need a Connecticut state gun permit. If you have a permit in another state, you need to get a CT gun permit immediately or else you will likely be illegally in possession of your guns in Connecticut and can get arrested.
Can I Go to Jail in CT for Gun Possession without a Permit?
Yes. If you do not have a permit but still carry a gun, you may be charged with possession/purchase of a handgun without a permit in violation of C.G.S. § 29-35(a). This is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in jail, a fine of up to $5,000.00, and/or a period of up to three years probation. Of that jail exposure, two years are mandatory.
What are the Penalties for Criminal Possession of a Firearm in Connecticut?
If you are found in possession of a gun and you already have a felony conviction or have an order of protection against you (like a domestic violence restraining order), you may be charged with a Class C Felony for criminal possession of a firearm. This carries with it up to 10 years in jail (of which two years are mandatory), a fine of up to $10,000.00 (of which $5,000.00 is mandatory), and/or up to 3 years probation.
How to Fight Gun Charges in Connecticut
A top Connecticut gun firearms possession criminal attorney can work with you to get the best outcome possible in your case, including a dismissal of the charges. A recent CT Supreme Court decision has left the door open for the defense that people transporting illegal guns into Connecticut that were legal in other states may not be committing a crime. Another way this can be accomplished is through applying for pretrial diversionary programs.
The “Gun AR” Program in Connecticut Courts
Individuals charged with the illegal sale, delivery, or transfer of firearms may be eligible for what is commonly known among to Connecticut gun lawyers as “Gun AR.” This program imposes certain restrictions on the individual, lasts for up to two years, and at the end of that monitoring period—if successfully completed—the individual’s charges will be dismissed.
Contact a Connecticut Criminal Gun Lawyer Today
Have you been arrested in Connecticut for illegal possession of a firearm? Contact a criminal lawyer at Mark Sherman Law today to discuss your case and begin building a successful defense. You can read reviews from our former gun clients by clicking here. Give us a call today to learn more at (203) 358-4700.