Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    New Haven Sex Crimes Lawyer

    Just being accused of engaging in unlawful sexual conduct can wreak havoc on your personal and professional reputation and a conviction could change the course of your life in every way. As serious as allegations of this nature are, you still have a right to defend yourself in court, and you have help available in doing so from a seasoned New Haven sex crimes lawyer with experience handling situations like yours in the past.

    Contesting Different Types of Sex Crimes

    Perhaps unsurprisingly, the vast majority of offenses colloquially referred to as “sex crimes” in Connecticut are defined in the Connecticut Penal Code as some form of “Sexual Assault.” There are four degrees of Sexual Assault that someone may be charged with in New Haven, each of which covers a different type of sexual misconduct involving either sexual contact or sexual intercourse which either involves someone who materially cannot consent to it or was compelled through the use or threat of force.

    With the exception of Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree targeting someone 16 years of age or older, all forms of Sexual Assault are classified as felonies in the state of Connecticut, including sexual contact or intercourse with someone under the age of 16 without the use or threat of force, sometimes referred to as Statutory Rape. On that note, it should be emphasized that Sexual Assault against a person under the age of 16 is automatically elevated by one degree of severity—for example, Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree goes from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class D felony.

    Other offenses commonly treated as “sex crimes” in Connecticut include:

    • Possession of Child Pornography
    • Importing Child Pornography
    • Employment or Promotion of a Child in an “Obscene Performance”—in other words, Production or Distribution of Child Pornography
    • Promotion of Prostitution
    • Voyeurism, under certain circumstances

    As a New Haven sex crimes attorney can explain, Kidnapping, Unlawful Restraint, and Risk of Injury to a Child can also be prosecuted as sex crimes if they are committed specifically for sexual purposes.

    What Are the Sex Offender Registration Requirements?

    Any first-time offender convicted of a sex crime considered to be a “nonviolent sexual offense” or a “crime against minors” must register as a sex offender with the state Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection for a minimum of 10 years after completing whatever term of incarceration they are sentenced to as a result of their conviction. Anyone convicted of a “sexually violent offense” or convicted of more than one of any other type of sex crime must register as a sex offender for life after their release from incarceration.

    Registrants must provide their name, identifying information, residential address, and any online accounts that could allow for internet communication—for example, email addresses—to the Department, and they must notify the Department whenever any of that information changes. A sex crimes lawyer in New Haven can go into further detail about what sex offender registration entails during a private initial consultation.

    Work With a New Haven Sex Crimes Attorney

    To an even greater extent than with most other types of criminal charges, what you say and do immediately after being accused of or charged with a sex crime in Connecticut can have a massive impact on what outcome your case ultimately has for you. With that in mind, contacting and retaining a skilled New Haven sex crimes lawyer should be a top priority for anyone who has found themselves in a situation like this. Schedule a confidential meeting by calling Mark Sherman Law today and click here to view over 300 certified reviews from past clients.