Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Ridgefield Theft Lawyer

    Theft—or “Larceny,” as it is called in the Connecticut Penal Code—is one of the most common criminal charges people in the Constitution State find themselves facing, and also one of the most commonly misunderstood offenses codified under state law. Fortunately, you have help available to you from a seasoned Ridgefield theft lawyer with experience handling cases just like yours in effective and proactive ways. Whether you have an existing criminal record or this is your first time facing criminal allegations of any kind, having a skilled criminal defense attorney by your side can be vital to minimizing the sanctions you may end up facing and enforcing your rights throughout the legal proceedings.

    When is Larceny Considered a Misdemeanor?

    Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) § 53a-119 defines no fewer than 18 specific actions that may qualify as criminal Larceny, many of which do not involve the taking of physical property from another person. In general, though, someone commits criminal theft if they take, withhold, or obtain something—money, goods, services, or something else of value—belonging to someone else with intent to deprive the rightful owner of its use and/or benefit from its use themselves.

    C.G.S. §§ 53a-122 through 53a-125b splits Larceny offenses into six “degrees” based mainly on the sum financial value of property or services allegedly taken by the defendant, with theft of less than $2,000 generally being treated as a misdemeanor offense. More specifically, theft of less than $500 is Larceny in the Sixth Degree (a Class C misdemeanor), theft of between $500 and $1,000 is Larceny in the Fifth Degree (a Class B misdemeanor), and theft of between $1,000 and $2,000 is Larceny in the Fourth Degree (a Class A misdemeanor).

    This means that depending on how the value of specific items or services are defined, a misdemeanor theft conviction could result in anywhere from a maximum of three months in jail and $500 in fines to a maximum of one year in jail and $2,000 in fines.

    When Does Theft Become a Felony Offense?

    The Connecticut Penal Code defines theft of between $2,000 and $10,000 as  Larceny in the Third Degree (a Class D felony), theft of between $10,000 and $20,000 as Larceny in the Second Degree (a Class C felony), and theft of over $20,000 as Larceny in the First Degree (a Class B felony).

    Importantly, though, the theft of certain types of property is always treated as felonies, as are acts of theft committed in specific ways. To name just a couple of examples, theft of property taken directly from someone else’s person—in other words, Robbery—is always considered Larceny in the Second Degree regardless of the financial value of that property, and theft committed via any kind of Extortion scheme is always Larceny in the First Degree. A theft defense lawyer in Ridgefield can go into further detail about the differences between various larceny offenses during a confidential consultation.

    Work With a Ridgefield Theft Attorney

    Courts in Connecticut tend to prosecute people accused of theft harshly, even if they have no prior record of criminal convictions. Put simply, this is not the type of allegation you can afford to take lightly, and you should think twice before trying to represent your own best interests in court.

    Instead, you can reach out to a Ridgefield theft lawyer from the Law Offices of Mark Sherman, who will work tirelessly and tenaciously to get you the best possible result from your unique case. Call today to schedule your confidential consultation, and click here to view our Avvo profile with over 300 certified reviews from past clients.