Ridgefield Risk of Injury to Minors Lawyer
Risk of injury is a serious crime in Ridgefield, Connecticut. A Ridgefield child endangerment lawyer could explain the charges and help you build a strong defense.
What Could Constitute Child Endangerment in Ridgefield?
Connecticut General Statutes §53-21 makes it a class C felony for any adult to knowingly put a child under 16 in a situation that either endangers their physical safety, is likely to damage them morally, or actually causes either form of harm. This statute also makes it a class C felony to sell custody of a child under 16 to another person for monetary compensation, and a class B felony to make contact with the intimate parts of a child under 16 in a “sexual and indecent manner.”
Unfortunately, law enforcement officers have a lot of leeway when it comes to deciding what actions by a parent or other adult entrusted with a child’s care demonstrably put a child at risk of harm. This charge commonly comes up in cases involving DUI with a child in the car, intentional exposure of a child to graphic images, and domestic violence occurring in front of children, but this is not an exhaustive list of scenarios in which a person might end up facing a charge for risk of injury to a minor.
Notably, leaving a child under 12 unattended in a vehicle is covered under a different statute, Connecticut General Statutes §53-21a, which defines this offense as a class A misdemeanor during the day and a class C felony if it occurs at night. A Ridgefield child endangerment attorney could help someone facing charges under either section of state law.
What Are The Consequences of a Conviction?
First and foremost, because risk of injury often arises in connection with other offenses you can be facing consequences for multiple charges. This means you need to not only understand these different charges but know what the outcomes could be and know how to effectively defend against them. A Ridgefield defense attorney can help.
Focusing just on risk of injury, if you are convicted of felony child endangerment under C.G.S. §53-21, a defendant could face a maximum prison sentence of anywhere from 10 to 20 years, a mandatory minimum prison sentence of one year, and fines of $10,000 to $15,000 at most. Misdemeanor convictions under C.G.S. §53-21a could result in criminal sanctions of up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine.
In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes §53-22, any conviction of putting a child at risk of injury allows the court overseeing the case to order psychiatric evaluation of the defendant if they see fit to do so.
What Else Do I Need to be Aware of with Risk of Injury Charges?
The biggest issue apart from criminal sanctions a person facing charges for risk of injury is likely to face is investigation by the Department of Children and Families. This is an investigation separate from the police and courts, and can be confusing, time consuming, and intimidating. Skilled defense attorneys know how to artfully handle both fronts and can help you navigate them as well. To learn more about DCF defense, click here.
Get in Touch with a Ridgefield Risk of Injury to Minors Attorney Today
A qualified Ridgefield risk of injury to minors lawyer could be your most important ally in the fight to preserve your reputation and your freedom. Over 300 clients have left us 5-star reviews for our service and dedication, click here to read more. Give us a call to get started on your defense.