Westport Reckless Endangerment Lawyer
Regardless of the circumstances under which you were arrested, a Westport reckless endangerment lawyer could help seek a positive resolution to your case. With support from a seasoned criminal defense attorney, you could have a much better chance of building a compelling defense and mitigating your risk of facing serious criminal and personal repercussions.
What Constitutes Criminally Reckless Behavior?
The definitions for reckless endangerment in the first and second degree can be found in Connecticut General Statutes §§53a-63 and 53a-64. Both degrees are misdemeanors, but still carry the risk of jail time and fines. Second degree reckless endangerment involves someone recklessly putting another person at risk of “serious physical injury”. First degree reckless endangerment involves the same, but the accused must have acted with “extreme indifference to human life.”
This is all that the law explicitly says about reckless endangerment, so it is not hard to see where there is great room for interpretation regarding what actually counts as a crime under this statute. Some common examples of situations where law enforcement officers might charge someone under these statutes include:
- Reckless or drunk driving with passengers in the car
- Street racing
- Brandishing or discharging firearms in public
- Certain domestic violence situations
- Engaging in a fight in public
- A parent allowing a teenage child to drink and/or drive
This list is far from comprehensive though, as virtually any action a police officer deems unreasonably dangerous could potentially lead to an independent reckless endangerment charge, or to this charge being tacked onto another one. A Westport reckless endangerment attorney could help an individual defendant identify why they were arrested and whether those circumstances reasonably justify the charges they are facing.
What Are The Potential Consequences of a Conviction?
First degree reckless endangerment, a Class A misdemeanor carries up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Second degree reckless endangerment carries up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. While these may not seem like extremely severe penalties compared to those associated with felony offenses, a reckless endangerment conviction still leaves the defendant in question with a criminal record, which may significantly limit their educational, occupational, and housing options in the future.
Furthermore, if someone is convicted of reckless endangerment involving their children, they may be subject to investigation by the Connecticut Department of Children and Families, which could potentially lead to them losing custody or visitation rights in the worst-case scenario. Assistance from a qualified lawyer may be especially critical if a reckless endangerment charge in Westport is classified as a domestic violence offense.
Seek Help from a Westport Reckless Endangerment Attorney
A Westport reckless endangerment lawyer could work tirelessly to collect exculpatory evidence, challenge the prosecution’s assertions about your actions, and secure a case resolution that preserves your best interests and future prospects. Don’t just take our word for it, click here to read hundreds of reviews from our former clients. Call today to schedule a consultation.