Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Connecticut Domestic Violence Penalties

    Have you been arrested for domestic violence in Connecticut? Contact a top Connecticut domestic violence lawyer today to learn about your rights and begin working to minimize the consequences. With a top defense attorney by your side, you could fight for a positive resolution to your charges.

    What is Considered Domestic Violence in CT?

    Domestic violence, or “family violence” as it is termed in Connecticut statutes, is not a single criminal offense. In CT, domestic violence occurs whenever someone commits a crime against a family or household member and incorporates an element defined as family violence under CGS §46b-38a.

    Family Violence

    Family violence consists of an act that has one or more of the following attributes:

    • The act causes physical harm or bodily injury
    • The act would be considered assault
    • The act puts someone in fear of imminent bodily harm
    • The act puts someone in fear of imminent assault

    Virtually any crime against a person legally considered to be a family or household member may be considered domestic violence if it incorporates an element of family violence.

    Notably, the statute specifies that verbal arguments alone do not constitute family violence unless “there is present danger and the likelihood that physical violence will occur.”

    Domestic Relationships

    The relationships that cause a crime to be considered domestic violence include spouses, former spouses, parents and children, and couples who have parented a child together. Some of the other connections treated as a family relationship in Connecticut may come as a surprise. They include all relatives, whether related by blood or marriage, anyone who has lived together, and all those in a “dating relationship” currently or in the recent past.

    What can I be Charged With for Domestic Violence?

    In Connecticut, you can be charged with assault, sexual assault, stalking, threatening, or disorderly conduct in connection with a domestic violence allegation.

    What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?

    Because domestic violence covers a range of crimes in CT, the penalties will be assessed based on the underlying crime. Some of these crimes are misdemeanors and some are felonies. All carry the potential for fines, imprisonment, protective orders, and / or probation.

    Three of the most common charges in connection with domestic violence in CT are stalking, threatening, and assault.

    Stalking and Threatening

    Second-degree stalking and second-degree threatening are generally both classified as class A misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. However, if someone commits second-degree threatening on school property, the offense may be treated as a class D felony, punishable by up to five years of imprisonment and a fine as high as $5,000. First-degree threatening is usually considered a class D felony, but commission on school property raises it to a class C felony.


    More serious domestic violence charges involve allegations of assault, an offense with varying degrees of severity. Connecticut law classifies first-degree assault as a class B felony, but the offense is aggravated to a class A felony if it results in the termination of a pregnancy. First-degree assault is punishable by 20-25 years in prison and fines of up to $15-20,000.

    Speak to a Connecticut Domestic Violence Attorney Today

    To understand the full implications of your charges and the potential Connecticut domestic violence penalties they carry, it may be necessary to retain legal counsel. A top Connecticut domestic violence lawyer could analyze the facts of your case and advise you on the possible outcomes. They could also craft a credible defense tailored to your unique circumstances. Call Mark Sherman Law today to get started.