Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Connecticut Risk of Injury to a Minor Lawyer

    Connecticut police, prosecutors and judges aggressively enforce and prosecute child endangerment crimes. As many of the best defense attorneys and lawyers know, however, these laws are written so broadly that they encompass a very wide range of circumstances.

    Frequently, the charge of risk of injury to a minor is added on to other charges in domestic violence disputes and other situations where law enforcement officials are called.

    The risk of injury charges are often much more serious than the underlying charges, so it is important to work with a Connecticut risk of injury to a minor lawyer on your case. A distinguished domestic violence attorney who is familiar with how the courts handle these cases can help you work toward a strong result for your particular case.

    What Can Get Someone Arrested for Risk of Injury?

    Although a wide variety of circumstances could arguably pose a risk to the health or morals of a child and get you arrested for Connecticut risk of injury to a minor charges under CGS 53-21, some of the more frequent scenarios occur when:

    • Children are in the home during a domestic violence arrest
    • A child under 12 is left unattended in the home or car
    • A parent is caught committing a crime while accompanied by a child
    • A parent or nanny is arrested for DUI with a child in the car
    • A child is exposed to graphic sexual images online or in print

    In light of the fact that all Connecticut risk of injury arrests are felonies with grave penalties, a risk of injury to a minor charge must be taken very seriously and should involve the help of a trusted attorney. In addition to fines and terms of imprisonment, other potential consequences include an investigation by the Department of Children and Families which could lead to a child’s removal from the home.

    Fighting Situational Risk of Injury Arrests

    Offenses involving risk of injury to minors are sometimes referred to as child endangerment. The statute most commonly invoked in these situations is §53-21(a)(1) of the Connecticut code which is often called situational risk of injury by top Connecticut risk of injury criminal lawyers. This statute describes three different types of conduct that will be considered a risk of injury violation.

    A Connecticut risk of injury to a minor attorney knows that someone could be arrested for situational risk of injury to a minor for placing a minor under the age of 16 in a situation that either:

    • Creates a danger to the life or limb of the child
    • Creates a likelihood of injury to the child’s health
    • Creates a likelihood that the child’s morals will be impaired

    Arrests for Risk of Injury are considered a Class C felony. As a result, it is punishable by up to 10 years of jail and a fine as high as $10,000.

    What Does it Mean to be Arrested for Contact with Intimate Parts?

    The second subsection in Connecticut’s Risk of Injury statute is CGS 53-21(a)(2) and describes the most serious of the risk of injury to minor offenses in Connecticut. This provision contains a prohibition against touching the intimate body parts of a minor under the age of 16 or allowing the minor to touch the intimate body parts of an adult in a way that can be considered sexual and indecent and that is likely to impair the heath or morals of the minor child. Because this crime is classified as a Class B felony, those convicted face up to 20 years in prison and a fine of to $15,000.

    Unlawful Transfer of Custody in Connecticut

    The final provision of the risk of injury to a minor statute concerns the transfer of permanent custody of a minor under the age of 16. If an individual in Connecticut either transfers permanent custody of a child in exchange for money or anything else of value or acquires custody in exchange for valuable consideration, then the individual may be found guilty of a violation.

    This provision does not apply to legally sanctified adoption procedures. A violation of this third provision is considered a Class C felony with maximum penalties identical to those of the first provision.

    A Connecticut lawyer can help protect your rights and start right away to work toward the ideal outcome based on the circumstances of your risk of injury to a minor case. Your attorney will serve as your advocate and provide guidance at every step during the Connecticut court proceedings.

    Call a Connecticut Risk of Injury Attorney Now

    Contact our firm to begin reviewing the details of your case with a trusted legal advocate. Our Connecticut risk of injury to a minor lawyers are prepared to advocate on your behalf to pursue the best possible outcome in your given circumstances.