Contact Us

Case Evaluation
close

Connecticut Rape Lawyer

Sexual assault under Connecticut General Statute § 53a-70, is one of the most serious crimes in the State of Connecticut. Penalties are harsh and often include prison sentences that cannot be suspended.

If you were accused of rape or sexual assault, consider speaking to an experienced Connecticut rape lawyer about your case. With the help of a skilled attorney, you could mount a strong defense to the charges you face.

Understanding Connecticut Sexual Assault Statutes

Under Connecticut statutes, rape, sexual battery and statutory rape all fall under the broader heading of sexual assault. There are four degrees of sexual assault in Connecticut.

How Are Sexual Assault Charges Categorized in Connecticut?

Different factors in a case can determine what degree of sexual assault a person is charged with. For instance, sexual assault that involves the use of a gun may trigger a separate offense, such as assault in the third degree with a firearm.

The age of a complainant can also dictate which degree of sexual assault a defendant is charged with. Statutory rape generally falls under the definitions listed in the statute governing sexual assault in the second degree.

Broadly speaking, scenarios that would have been considered rape under the old classification system would now be considered first or second-degree sexual assault. What is often referred to as statutory rape generally falls under the definitions listed in the statute governing sexual assault in the second degree.

What is Sexual Assault in the First Degree?

First-degree sexual assault under CGS §53a-70 occurs when one person uses force to compel sexual intercourse with another, or when a person engages in sexual intercourse with a minor under the age of 13 or with someone who is mentally incapacitated. Sexual assault in the first degree is generally treated as a Class B felony punishable by one to 20 years of imprisonment and possibly a fine of up to $15,000. In certain cases, such as where the complainant is underage, the offense could be considered a Class A felony with a maximum prison term of up to 50 years and a maximum fine of $20,000.

What is Sexual Assault in the Second Degree?

As with first-degree sexual assault, second-degree assault involves sexual intercourse. By comparison, third and fourth-degree sexual assault usually involves sexual contact with no penetration.

CGS § 53a-71 sexual assault in the second degree encompasses assault that occurs when two individuals have sexual intercourse when one of them is considered incapable of legally consenting to such an act. This offense is often considered a Class C felony with penalties that may include a sentence of one to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. The crime could become a Class B felony if a minor under the age of 16 is involved.

Get Help from an Experienced Connecticut Rape Attorney

When a person is accused of rape or sexual assault, they may be in jeopardy of losing their employment or social stigma. Additionally, legal penalties are typically severe for a rape offense.

If you are facing sexual assault charges in Connecticut, contact a top sexual assault and rape lawyer as soon as possible to avoid jeopardizing your future. An experienced defense attorney can analyze all angles of your case and can advise you on potential defenses and the most effective legal strategy. Call our experienced lawyers today to get started.