Darien Reckless Endangerment Lawyer
Police officers often make arrests for reckless endangerment on very subjective grounds, which can make it hard to effectively fight this charge on your own. However, you do not have to defend your best interests alone if you retain a Darien reckless endangerment lawyer.
How Does The Law Define Reckless Endangerment?
According to Connecticut General Statutes §53a-64, a person commits the crime of reckless endangerment in the second degree when they do something irresponsible or unreasonably dangerous that puts another person’s health and safety at risk. Likewise, C.G.S. §53a-64 defines reckless endangerment in the first degree as the same kind of action taken with “extreme indifference to human life.”
Unfortunately, that is all the clarification state law provides on what actually constitutes reckless endangerment, leaving the practical interpretation of this law to individual police officers. Generally, police officers add reckless endangerment charges onto other charges for potentially dangerous actions—in other words, if someone is arrested for driving drunk with a passenger in the car, recklessly discharging a firearm, or engaging in domestic violence, the arresting office might charge them with both their initial offense and reckless endangerment at the same time.
However, this is hardly a comprehensive list of criminal acts that a police officer could consider recklessly dangerous, especially in the context of domestic violence. Regardless of the justification for a particular defendant’s charges, a Darien reckless endangerment attorney could work with them to defend their rights and secure a case outcome that serves their best interests.
What Are the Consequences of a Conviction?
C.G.S. §§53a-63 and 531-64 respectively define reckless endangerment in the first and second degrees as class A and class B misdemeanor offenses. This means that the maximum criminal punishments these two charges could respectively result in would be a 12-month jail sentence and $2,000 in fines, or six months of jail time and $1,000 in fines. Additional repercussions like protective orders and DCF investigations may follow convictions for—or in some cases, even accusations of—domestic violence reckless endangerment.
Though this is not a felony offense, the consequences of a conviction could long outlast the last court date It’s important therefore to work vigorously to avoid a conviction at all costs to protect your reputation and your future.
Can I Avoid Jail Time?
Fortunately, defendants without prior histories of criminal convictions may be able to seek lesser sanctions like community service or probation with help from a reckless endangerment lawyer in Darien. A skilled legal representative could alternatively help first-time offenders apply for Connecticut’s Accelerated Rehabilitation Program, which—if completed—will result a reckless endangerment charge being completely wiped off the defendant’s criminal record.
Seek Help from a Darien Reckless Endangerment Attorney
A Darien reckless endangerment lawyer could walk you through all your legal options and ensure you pursue the right course of action for your unique needs. Click here to visit Avvo.com where you can read more about our firm, including hundreds of certified 5-star reviews. Get in touch today for an initial consultation.