Darien Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault Lawyer
Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree, although the least severe variant of this offense by comparison, is still an extremely serious matter that should be handled by a seasoned sexual assault defense attorney. By working with a Darien Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault lawyer, you could give yourself a much better chance of securing a favorable case result with minimal long-term consequences.
Defining Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault Under State Law
A person may be found guilty of Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree if they engage in unlawful sexual contact—as opposed to sexual intercourse—with someone who materially cannot consent to sexual activity under the circumstances, but without the actual use or threat of force. Connecticut General Statutes §53a-73a defines Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree as sexual contact with any of the following individuals:
- Someone who does not consent to sexual contact;
- Someone who is physically helpless;
- Someone under 13-years old, if the perpetrator is more than two years older than them;
- Someone between 13- and 15-years old, if the perpetrator is more than three years older than them;
- Someone under 18-years old, if the perpetrator is their legal guardian or has authority over them as their athletic coach, teacher, or in any other like context;
- A medical or psychotherapy patient, if the perpetrator is their physician or therapist and the contact occurs during an appointment and/or through fraud or deception as to its bona fide medical purpose.
Any sexual contact imposed upon someone else through force would constitute Sexual Assault in the Third Degree, and nonconsensual sexual intercourse that occurs under any of the aforementioned circumstances would be considered Sexual Assault in the Second Degree. A Darien Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault attorney could review the distinctions between these various offenses in more detail during a confidential consultation.
Potential Penalties Upon Conviction for Sexual Assault
If the alleged victim was over 16 at the time of the alleged assault, the defendant accused of Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree may face penalties consistent with those of a class A misdemeanor. Upon conviction for this type of offense, a defendant may face maximum sanctions of one year in jail, two years of probation, and/or up to $2,000 in fines.
As with other types of sexual assault charges, anyone accused of committing Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree against a person younger than 16 would have the severity of their charge enhanced by one level. As a qualified lawyer could further explain, this would turn a Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault charge in Darien from a class A misdemeanor into a class D felony, which could be punishable by five years in prison, three years of probation, and up to $5,000 in fines.
Contact a Darien Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault Attorney for Help
Although the least serious form of sexual assault codified in the Connecticut Penal Code, it is still crucial to act quickly in response to any investigation or allegation involving Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault. On top of serious criminal consequences in the event you are convicted, an accusation alone could do irreversible damage to your personal and professional prospects, regardless of what outcome your case ultimately has.
Guidance from a Darien Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault lawyer could make a dramatic difference in achieving a positive outcome. Click here to read our over 300 reviews on Avvo.com, and call us today to schedule your confidential consultation.