Domestic Violence Penalties in Weston
Domestic violence offenses differ from standard criminal charges and may include steeper penalties upon conviction. When you face potential domestic violence penalties in Weston, it is vital that you seek out a dedicated defense attorney to help you protect your rights and your future.
Understanding Domestic Violence Crimes in Connecticut
Domestic violence is a term that describes a type of criminal act. Domestic violence can be physical, sexual, emotional, economic, or psychological forms of harm or threats against a family or household member. In these circumstances, a household member can include current and former spouses or significant others, co-parents, roommates, in-laws, and other relatives. Domestic violence offenses enhance the penalties of certain crimes already recognized by the Connecticut Penal Code.
As with many other crimes, domestic violence offenses can be misdemeanors or felonies. In some cases—like with Harassment in the First Degree—making a charge a domestic violence offense in Weston can increase it from a misdemeanor to a felony.
It is helpful to remember that criminal charges—even domestic violence charges—can be modified or dismissed. A person initially facing a felony charge could see the offense amended to a misdemeanor in some circumstances. This is especially common as part of a plea bargain agreement.
Misdemeanor Domestic Violence Penalties
Not all misdemeanor offenses are the same. In Connecticut, these charges are grouped into different categories known as degrees. In total, there are four different degrees of misdemeanors recognized under state law. A Class A misdemeanor is the highest level, just below a felony conviction. The lowest level of offense is a Class D misdemeanor.
There are maximum penalties associated with each type of domestic violence misdemeanor. It should be noted that while the law prescribes maximum sentences, that does not necessarily mean most people will face them. The maximum penalties in Weston misdemeanor domestic violence cases include:
- Class A: one year in jail;
- Class B: six months in jail;
- Class C: three months in jail; and
- Class D: one month in jail.
There are several domestic violence charges that are typically treated as misdemeanors. For example, Harassment or Stalking in the Second Degree are both considered misdemeanors.
Felony Domestic Violence Penalties
Felony domestic violence charges are more serious than misdemeanors. In fact, these charges could result in many years behind bars depending on the circumstances. Like misdemeanors, felonies are also broken down into different classes. In total, there are four classes of felonies. Class A felonies carry the steepest penalties, while Class D felonies have the lowest maximum sentences. The sentences for these charges include:
- Class A: 10-25 years in prison;
- Class B: 1-20 years in prison;
- Class C: 1-10 years in prison; and
- Class D: 1-5 years in prison.
A skilled attorney from our firm can help people who are facing domestic violence penalties in Weston understand what they are up against and work to build an effective defense.
Talk To an Attorney in Weston about Domestic Violence Penalties
When you have been accused of domestic violence, you should seek legal counsel as soon as possible. A conviction could result in serious legal, social, and financial consequences that could impact you for the rest of your life.
Reach out to an attorney from Mark Sherman Law to learn more about domestic violence penalties in Weston and how our team can help mitigate them, and click here to visit our Avvo profile with over 300 certified reviews from previous clients.