Connecticut Fake ID Lawyer
If you are facing a fake ID charge, it is important that you consult with an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced Connecticut fake ID lawyer can gather all necessary evidence associated with the case and mount a defense to help reduce or dismiss any potential penalties you may be facing.
What is the Definition of Forgery under Connecticut Law?
Connecticut General Statute § 53a-138, defines forgery as not only making or altering documents falsely, but also possessing falsified documents with the knowledge that they are fake and with the intent to mislead others. Connecticut students can be charged with felony forgery even if they possess a fake ID but make no attempt to use it.
Is Forgery a Misdemeanor or Felony Charge in Connecticut?
Connecticut state law treats forgery as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the type of document that was counterfeited. The most serious forgeries involve corporate stock documents and instruments related to federal securities. Replicating these documents is considered forgery in the first degree, which is a class C felony under Connecticut General Statutes §53a-138.
The most common form of Forgery seen in Connecticut is forgery in the second degree. This occurs any time a Connecticut student possesses a fake ID. Under Connecticut law, forgery in the second degree is a class D felony. The types of documents for which someone may be charged with second-degree forgery include:
- Wills, deeds, and contracts creating a legal interest
- Public records
- Instruments created by government offices
- Medical prescriptions
Forgery charges are considered misdemeanors in Connecticut if the falsified item is a fake student ID card, or another document that falls outside of the first or second degree forgery statutes.
What are the Penalties for Fake ID Forgery?
A student arrested for forgery for possessing a fake ID with be charged with forgery in the second degree. Forgery in the second degree is a class D felony in Connecticut, punishable by up to five years in prison, up to a $5,000 fine and up to three years probation.
If a student is charged was third degree forgery, or the charge is reduced, the maximum penalty decreases to six months of imprisonment and a fine of $1,000.
Common Fake ID Arrest Scenarios
There are a few different ways that an individual can be charged with possession of a fake ID. An officer may come to a student’s dorm room following a noise complaint and see the fake identification, or the student might let them know about the fake identification when they are asked. Further, the officer could find the identification after searching the room. In that instance, the student would likely be taken by police to their headquarters where the student would be processed, booked, and given a court date.
If an officer performs a motor vehicle stop on a student and sees the fake identification in their wallet or, worse, if the student hands the officer the fake identification, they might also be taken to the University of Connecticut police headquarters to be booked and processed. This charge is treated incredibly seriously by both local and university police, and should only be handled by a Connecticut fake ID attorney.
Challenging the Arrest
The only way for an individual to challenge an arrest would be to prove that they were not in possession of the alleged fake identification, or if the officer violates search and seizure laws to get the identification.
It can be difficult for an individual to challenge this charge on their own. There are many factors to consider when dealing with such a charge that can only be understood by an experienced Connecticut fake ID attorney.
Frequency of Fake IDs
Since there are so many undergraduate students that are under the age of 21 in the area, officers are more aware of how common it is for students to possess fake identification. Because of this, they are on the lookout for fake identification more than they otherwise might be with the general public.
Contacting an Attorney
Forgery in the second degree is a felony throughout Connecticut, regardless of if it occurs at a school. Since this charge is classified as a second degree felony, it is crucial that any individual involved contacts an attorney as soon as possible.
It is necessary for an individual to contact a knowledgeable Connecticut fake ID attorney who has handled these kinds of charges at University of Connecticut previously. The fact that this is a felony charge solidifies the need for an experienced lawyer immediately.