Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    When Can I Go Home After My Stamford Disorderly Conduct Arrest?

    Getting Back in Your Home following a Domestic Violence Arrest

    • Stamford domestic violence arrests usually trigger criminal protective orders.
    • Criminal protective orders can stop your from speaking to your family or returning to your home following an arrest.

    • You can be prohibited from returning home for the entire time your case is pending.
    • Call a criminal protective order attorney to learn how to modify your protective order and move home following your disorderly conduct arrest.

    What is Considered Disorderly Conduct?

    Domestic violence disorderly conduct charges are some of the most common charges in Stamford Court. Connecticut General Statute (CGS) § 53a-182 is broad and can include a wide range of offenses, including any time a person engages in a fight or violent or threatening behavior. A person can also be arrested for CGS § 53a-182 Disorderly Conduct anytime they are accused of annoying or interfering with another person by using offensive language, making unreasonable noise, or trespassing onto another person’s property. Most commonly, Disorderly Conduct arrests occur after arguments between family members.

    What Is A Connecticut Protective Order?

    CGS § 46b-38c protective orders are issued at a defendant’s first court date for disorderly conduct. Under Connecticut statute, a judge has the discretion to impose an order that protects a domestic violence victim from additional threats, harassment, injury or intimidation. This means, a court can order that anyone accused of disorderly conduct not restrain, threaten, harass, assault, molest or sexually assault a victim. This also means, a court can order that a defendant not enter a shared family residence or have any contact with a victim for the duration of their case.

    When Will My Disorderly Conduct Protective Order Go Away?

    A Connecticut criminal protective order will go away when criminal charges are dropped or the case is disposed of in court. Unfortunately, criminal disorderly conduct cases can drag on for years and can even result in a standing criminal protective order. Protective orders can only be modified by a judge, after a hearing in court. Speak to a criminal protective order attorney today to learn how you can modify your protective order before the end of your case.

    Can I Go to Jail for Disorderly Conduct?

    You can go to jail for up to three months if you’re found guilty of 53a-182 Disorderly Conduct in Connecticut. Disorderly Conduct is a class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to three months in prison, and a fine of up to $500. If you have any prior convictions on your record it may be harder to avoid a new conviction or jail time for a new domestic violence arrest. Contact an attorney to learn what you can do to have your charges dismissed without a criminal conviction.

    What Will Happen if I Violate A Connecticut Protective Order?

    CGS § 53a-223 violations of criminal protective orders are common in domestic violence cases, especially when the parties involves are married or share children together and need to be in contact with one another. Unfortunately for anyone caught violating a protective order, any violation is a class D felony, and can result in a new arrest, a felony conviction and up to 10 years in prison. Be sure to discuss your case with an attorney before contacting the victim in your case to avoid a new arrest for protective order violation in Connecticut.

    Call An Experienced Stamford Disorderly Conduct Attorney Today

    If you’ve been arrested for Stamford Disorderly Conduct and have had a protective order issued against you in criminal court, contact an experienced Connecticut defense attorney to learn how you can move home without waiting for your criminal case to go away. Contact the attorneys at Mark Sherman Law at (203) 358-4700 and read from hundreds of certified reviews.