Greenwich Assault Lawyer
Being charged with the crime of assault can be serious and leave you with a felony or misdemeanor record if convicted. The consequences can vary drastically depending on the circumstances, and there may be defenses that apply. That is why it may be helpful to consult immediately with an experienced Greenwich assault lawyer. A top attorney could see what can be done to resolve your case as favorably as possible.
What is Assault in Greenwich?
Under Connecticut law, the crime of assault happens when a person intentionally causes physical injury or recklessly causes serious physical injury to another person. Physical injury is any impairment of physical condition or pain, however slight. Physical injury becomes “serious” under Connecticut law when the injury creates a substantial risk of death, serious disfigurement, serious impairment of health, or serious loss or impairment of the function of any bodily organ. A concussion, cut, or broken bone may be deemed a serious physical injury under Connecticut law. A lawyer in Greenwich could help you prepare a defense if you have been accused of assault.
How Many Degrees of Assault Charges Are There in Connecticut?
Assault charges in Connecticut can be classified as first degree (C.G.S. § 53a-59, 53a-59a, or 53a-59b), second degree (C.G.S. § 53a-60, 53a-60a, 53a-60b, 53a-60c; 53a-60d), or third-degree (C.G.S. § 53a-61). The seriousness or severity of the consequences depends on a number factors, the most important of which are the seriousness of the injuries caused, whether a weapon or other dangerous instrument was used, and whether the victim falls within a class of person given special protection under the law. A Greenwich attorney could help someone accused of assault determine how to best handle their specific charges.
What is First-Degree Assault and What Are the Penalties?
Assault in the first degree is the most serious form of this offense under Connecticut law. Circumstances in which this offense may be charged include where a person intentionally:
- Causes serious physical injury using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
- Causes permanent disability to a limb or organ of another, or permanently disfigures another person
- Causes serious physical injury with the aid of two or more other people
First-degree assault is a class B felony, punishable by a minimum of five years in prison and up to 20 years, with fines up to $20,000. In addition, the crime can jump up to a class A felony if committed against a minor under 10 years of age, a witness to a judicial proceeding, or a person who is pregnant and loses their child as a result. Under those circumstances, the minimum sentence becomes 10 years of prison, with a maximum of 25 years. A lawyer in Greenwich could help someone accused of first-degree assault.
Assault in the second degree is a felony. Circumstances when it can be charged include when:
- A person intentionally causes serious physical injury
- A person intending to cause physical injury nevertheless causes serious physical injury using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
- A person recklessly uses a dangerous instrument to causes serious physical injury
- A person drugs another without their knowledge which causes stupor, unconsciousness, or other physical impairment
- A person causes serious physical injury to another with a motor vehicle while driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both
Second-degree assault is a class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison, with fines up to $5,000. A mandatory minimum of one, two, or three years may kick in if the crime is committed using a firearm, and/or the victim is elderly, disabled, or pregnant.
Assault in the third degree is a class A misdemeanor. Circumstances when it can be charged include when a person:
- Intentionally causes physical injury to another
- Recklessly causes serious physical injury to another
- Negligently causes physical injury to another using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
Third-degree assault is punishable by up to one year in prison, with fines up to $2,000. A mandatory minimum of one year may kick in if the crime is committed against a person who is elderly, disabled, or pregnant.
Allow a Greenwich Assault Attorney To Help
Assault charges may lead to heavy consequences, including fines and lengthy prison sentences. When defending against such charges, a seasoned Greenwich assault lawyer could bring to the table extensive knowledge of how Connecticut courts view particular actions and work to tirelessly to present your case in a favorable light. Contact an attorney today to discuss any charges you may be facing and take the first step towards protecting your rights.