Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Darien Domestic Violence Penalties

    A Connecticut domestic violence arrest can arise from any violent criminal act that occurs between people in a domestic relationship. In other words, these are crimes involving members of the same household or family, or individuals who dated used to date, or had a child together.

    Domestic violence covers a wide range of crimes with an even wider range of consequences, but the descriptions below give some general guidelines regarding Darien domestic violence penalties and arrests. If you want to know more, or need someone to defend you against the charges you face, get in touch with a qualified family violence attorney.

    Different Degrees of Assault

    Connecticut statutes set forth three different degrees of assault, plus additional assault crimes involving particular situations or protected classes of individuals. Assault basically involves an intentional or reckless infliction of physical injury.

    Darien domestic violence penalties can be quite severe. The most frequently charged assault crime in Darien is for assault in the third-degree. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor punishable, by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

    The next most common assault charge is assault in the second-degree is classified as either a Class C or Class D felony, depending on the severity of the injury caused. A Class C felony carries a minimum prison sentence of one year and a maximum of ten and a possible fine of up $10,000. The maximum penalties for a Class D felony are half that amount.

    What is Assault in the First-Degree?

    Often referred to as assault with a deadly weapon, assault in the first-degree is one of the most serious and is classified as a Class B felony. Penalties include up to 20 years imprisonment, often with a mandatory minimum, and a fine of up to $15,000. Assault on a pregnant woman that results in termination of the pregnancy is a Class A felony with a maximum fine of up to $20,000 and a prison sentence of up to 25 years.

    What are the Consequences of Violating a Protective Order?

    Often in domestic violence cases, courts will issue either a criminal protective order or a civil restraining order, limiting or prohibiting contact between the parties involved. Violating such an order is a Class D felony and carries a penalty of up to five years imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000.

    What are the Penalties for Harassment?

    Criminal harassment may be as simple as a phone call that involves profanity, which can constitute second-degree harassment. This offense is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to three months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

    First-degree harassment involves a threat to kill or physically injure another when that threat is communicated electronically or in writing. It is a Class D felony punishable by up to five years imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000. An attorney can give individuals more information on Darien domestic violence penalties during a private consultation.

    What are the Penalties for Threatening Offenses?

    Threatening is itself a separate crime. When an individual intentionally uses physical threats or threatens to commit a crime, those actions can be considered threatening in the second-degree, a Class A misdemeanor with a maximum punishment of up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,000.

    First-degree threatening involves the use or pretend use of a firearm or the use of a hazardous substance or criminal act to cause evacuation of a public space. The domestic violence penalties for first-degree threatening in Darien are a Class D felony with a maximum fine of up to $5,000 and a prison sentence of up to five years.

    Reach Out to an Attorney for Help Handling Darien Domestic Violence Penalties

    Darien domestic violence penalties can have life-changing consequences for those who are convicted. In addition to terms of incarceration and potentially heavy fines, these arrests often carry additional consequences such as registration requirements that put individuals in a national child abuse and neglect database and investigations by the Department of Children and Families (DCF), known as Connecticut DCF. If you have been arrested for family violence, consult a skilled attorney from the Law Offices of Mark Sherman today.