Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Norwalk Reckless Endangerment Lawyer

    No matter why a police officer charged you with reckless endangerment, this type of allegation can have serious repercussions for both you and your family. Fortunately, legal help is available from a Norwalk reckless endangerment lawyer for anyone facing this criminal charge in the state of Connecticut.

    What Behaviors Constitute Reckless Endangerment?

    Connecticut General Statutes §§53a-63 and 53a-64 define reckless endangerment in the first and second degrees as class A and class B misdemeanor offenses. However, the actual text of those statutes offers little clarity about what exactly constitutes this particular crime.

    Both statutes simply refer vaguely to “conduct which creates a risk of serious physical injury to another person,” with first-degree reckless endangerment including the qualifier of “extreme indifference to human life.”

    Because of the lack of specificity provided by state law, there are very few hard limits on the circumstances under which a police officer could see fit to arrest someone for this offense. Based on precedent, though, reckless endangerment charges are most commonly associated with actions like:

    • Drunk driving with a passenger
    • Reckless driving with a passenger
    • Knowingly allowing a teenager to drink and drive
    • Engaging in a physical fight in public
    • Running or driving away from police in pursuit
    • Discharging a firearm or BB gun in public

    Police officers also sometimes level this charge against individuals who allegedly engaged in domestic violence, especially if there were children present at the time of the alleged offense. A Norwalk reckless endangerment attorney could explain in further detail what situations may or may not justify this criminal charge.

    What Are the Consequences of a Reckless Endangerment Conviction?

    Depending on the offense’s degree, a conviction for reckless endangerment could result in maximum criminal sanctions of six months in jail plus a $1,000 fine, or a year behind bars paired with a $2,000 fine. Additionally, a conviction for domestic violence reckless endangerment could lead to protective orders, DCF investigations, loss of custody or visitation rights, and more.

    However, this offense does not always result in jail time, especially if the defendant does not have a history of other criminal behavior. With help from a dedicated reckless endangerment lawyer, first offenders in Norwalk may be eligible for Connecticut’s accelerated rehabilitation program, which would allow for the charge to be dismissed completely upon completion of the program. Alternatively, it may be possible to negotiate for lesser sentences like probation or community service as opposed to jail time.

    Speak with a Norwalk Reckless Endangerment Attorney Today

    Reckless endangerment is a serious criminal offense, but it can also be a confusing one to contest in court, as it is often unclear exactly what counts as reckless conduct or whether the actions in question truly endangered another person. A Norwalk reckless endangerment lawyer could serve as a critical ally throughout every stage of your case. You can read what over 300 former clients have to say about working with us by clicking here, then call today to begin protecting your reputation and your future.