Wilton DUI Lawyer
As any of the best Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyers and attorneys will tell you, a DUI / DWI arrest under CGS 14-227a in Wilton Connecticut must be fought in both Norwalk Superior Court and at the Bridgeport Department of Motor Vehicles. Depending on whether you are arrested as a first time DUI / DWI offender in Wilton, or a second time or repeat DUI / DWI offender, you could face misdemeanor or felony charges that can result in years of mandatory minimum jail time. Additionally, you must fight the suspension of your Connecticut driver’s license at an appeal hearing held at the Bridgeport DMV.
A Wilton Connecticut DUI Arrest Posts on the Internet & Google
And the stiff punishments and penalties for a DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton Connecticut don’t stop there. Soon after your Wilton drunk driving arrest, the Wilton Police Department will release your Wilton DUI / DWI arrest reports to local online media websites such as the Wilton Villager, Wilton Bulletin and Wilton Patch, causing you no shortage of personal and professional embarrassment. Fortunately, a few of the top Wilton Connecticut criminal law firms are experienced at removing arrest reports of your DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton off the internet, and off Google searches. Keep reading to learn more about this emerging area of law.
So if you are arrested in Wilton Connecticut for DWI / DUI / drunk driving, call a leading Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyer to begin fighting for dismissal of your criminal case, restoration of your driver’s license, and recovery of your online reputation.
Breath Tests During Wilton DUIs
When advising you over the phone about whether to take the breath test, a top criminal DUI / DWI lawyer in Wilton Connecticut will carefully consider the severity of your DUI / DWI accident, your prior DUI / DWI arrest record (if any), and your apparent level of intoxication during your arrest. Connecticut law gives you the right to privately contact a DUI / DWI attorney, so insist on making a phone call to one of the best Wilton Connecticut criminal law firms—no matter the time of day or night. Don’t make the mistake of calling a personal injury lawyer or divorce attorney who doesn’t have experience with DUI / DWI arrests. And remember… you’re entitled to a reasonable amount of time to contact a top Wilton Connecticut criminal lawyer, so if you’re unable to get through on your first call, speak up to make another call, and make an informed decision before taking the breath test during your DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton Connecticut.
Penalties for Failing and Refusing the Breath Test & Ignition Interlock Devices
As any of the top Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI / OUI criminal lawyers and attorneys can explain, since July 1, 2015, anyone arrested for DUI / DWI in Wilton Connecticut—even first time and repeat offenders—is required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in their automobiles, regardless of whether they were convicted or pled guilty. The best criminal lawyers in Wilton Connecticut are well aware that first time DWI / DUI offenders who fail a breath, blood or urine test now face a 45-day suspension of their Connecticut driver’s license, followed immediately by a 6 month IID installation requirement under the new laws (explained in additional detail here).
First time offenders who refuse the breath test during their DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton Connecticut will see this IID installation requirement increase to a full year. In some circumstances, you can ask your lawyer to get special permission from the DMV for a work permit following a Connecticut DUI / DWI arrest.
How to Pass Field Sobriety Tests in Wilton
There are three Field Sobriety tests administered in Wilton Connecticut – the One-Legged Stand Test, the Walk-and-Turn test, and the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus Test. First-time arrestees for DUI / DWI in Wilton Connecticut typically don’t realize they have the right to refuse the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (also known as the “SFSTs”) during traffic stops for DUI / DWI. It’s understandable that someone who has been pulled over in Wilton Connecticut and is facing a possible DUI / DWI arrest will feel inclined to comply with the Wilton police officer standing over them. Often, these Wilton Police officers do not give you the choice to refuse these tests.
However, while you’re legally required to provide your driver’s license, contact information, and vehicle registration and insurance paperwork to the Wilton Police officer, you are not required to submit to any of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. Most importantly, if you suffer from any medical conditions or vision issues, then you should immediately notify the Wilton Police officer conducting the Field Sobriety Tests, and ask them to make a note of these medical disclosures in their police reports.
What Happens at My First Court Date for a Wilton Connecticut Arrest?
All Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI arrests report to Norwalk Superior Court, located at 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk CT. Some people arrested in Wilton Connecticut on DUI / DWI charges under CGS 14-227a think they can go to court alone and have their DUI / DWI charges reduced or dismissed. They don’t understand that Connecticut spends millions on DUI / DWI enforcement, resulting in state prosecutors aggressively seeking guilty pleas and convictions in Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI cases. This is especially true in DUI / DWI cases involving a high BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level, serious physical injuries, or expensive property damage. So have a top Norwalk / Wilton Connecticut lawyer by your side at the first court date in Norwalk.
Defense Strategies for Wilton DWI First Time Offenders
First time offenders arrested in Wilton Connecticut for a DUI / DWI / OUI under CGS 14-227a usually have 3 defense strategies available to them while fighting their case. Option 1 is to contest your DUI / DWI charge and face a trial in Superior Court. The second option is to enter a guilty plea, agree to the suspension of your Connecticut driver’s license, and face the possibility of going to jail. The third option is to bypass the prosecutor, and go directly to the judge and ask the judge to suspend the prosecution of your Wilton DUI / DWI, grant your application to the Connecticut “Alcohol Education Program,” resulting in a full dismissal and expungement of your DUI / DWI arrest. Each of these choices has its advantages and disadvantages, but many people with jobs, families and tight finances are very interested in applying for Connecticut’s Pre-Trial Alcohol Education Program.
Connecticut’s Pre-Trial Alcohol Education Program for First Time Offenders
Requirements of Connecticut’s first time offender Alcohol Education Program include the attendance of 10 or 15 weekly alcohol education classes within a one-year period. Gaining admission to this program for a first time Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI offender is, however, not automatic — especially if you had a high Blood Alcohol Content reading on your breath test, caused serious property damage or personal injury, or had a previous DUI / DWI arrest in another state, including a New York State DUI / DWI that was reduced to a DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired). You only get one chance to apply to the Alcohol Education Program, so make sure you submit the strongest possible application package for with the help of a top Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyer attorney. You can also follow this link for more information regarding first time DUI / DWI offenders in Connecticut.
DUI Arrests for Second Time & Repeat Offenders in Wilton Connecticut
Under Connecticut General Statutes § 14-227a, second or third time repeat offender arrests for DUI / DWI in Wilton Connecticut are far more serious than first time offender DUI / DWI arrests. Connecticut criminal law essentially applies a 3 strikes law to adjudicate Wilton DUI / DWI repeat offender cases.
After a second conviction for DUI / DWI in Wilton Connecticut, you will face a felony, probation, a 3-year suspension of your driver’s license and up to 2 years in jail, 120 days of which are mandatory. A third DUI / DWI conviction exposes you to a 3-year jail sentence, of which 1 year is mandatory, and the loss of your Connecticut driver’s license for life.
As the best criminal attorneys and lawyers in Norwalk and Wilton Connecticut know from years of experience, second and third time DUI / DWI offender charges can, at times, be reduced to a first time offender disposition, allowing you to avoid a felony conviction and the possibility of mandatory jail time. Do not hesitate to contact one of Connecticut’s top criminal law firms to fight your second and repeat offender Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI charges. At the very least, let a lawyer assess the strengths and weaknesses of your case before agreeing to a quick plea bargain as a second or repeat DUI / DWI offender in Wilton Connecticut.
How a Wilton DUI Lawyer Can Help You in Norwalk Court
In the eyes of the Norwalk prosecutors who enforce Wilton DUI / DWI laws, the risk of DUI arrestees re-offending is high. As a result, prosecutors want a guilty plea that includes putting you on probation for a period of 18 months to 2 years. Therefore, the importance of having one of Wilton Connecticut’s best DUI / DWI / OUI attorneys by your side at your first Norwalk court date cannot be underestimated. Your attorneys will establish the tone of your case, lay the groundwork for your defense and any mitigation, and they will present your case’s individual circumstances in the best light possible, from both a legal and leniency perspective.
The top Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyers and attorneys can expertly examine your police reports, identifying constitutional errors, omissions and defects with respect to the administration of breath tests and Field Sobriety Tests, and then capitalize on those mistakes during pre-trial talks with Norwalk Connecticut prosecutors / district attorneys. This analysis is especially relevant in getting your Wilton arrest dismissed as a result of not being properly advised of your Miranda rights (follow this link for a more detailed discussion on this Miranda rights defense).
Consider Filing a Motion to Preserve Evidence
Most importantly, your lawyers can file motions that preserve electronic and digital surveillance evidence of your arrest and booking process, which can often be a huge advantage in DUI / DWI refusal cases, especially if you don’t appear intoxicated on the video. So be sure to contact any the best Wilton-Norwalk Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal lawyers and attorneys in advance of your first court date to gain a crucial advantage in your defense from the very outset of your case.
Get Your DUI Arrest in Wilton Off the Internet & Google
If you’ve been arrested for DUI / DWI / OUI in Wilton Connecticut, then you’ll find that the Wilton Police Department has released your arrest report to various local news media outlets, in particular the Wilton Villager, Wilton Bulletin and Wilton Patch websites. The impact of these online arrest reports on your good name is often devastating. The arrest report / police blotter pages of these websites rank high on searches of your name on Google, Yahoo and Bing to quickly pick up and publish the report of your DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton Connecticut, further compounding the damage to your reputation.
How a Wilton DUI / DWI Lawyer Can Help Clean Up Your Online Reputation
In response, the Mark Sherman Law Firm has developed a practice area that assists its clients in trying to remove their Connecticut DUI / DWI arrest reports and mug shots off the internet and off Google. Applying a deep understanding of libel and slander laws in Connecticut, coupled with years of Connecticut criminal law experience, the firm will exhaust its efforts to try and get your DUI / DWI Wilton Connecticut arrest reports taken offline. These procedures typically involve extensive legal wrangling and negotiations, but, after your DUI / DWI arrest in Wilton Connecticut is dismissed, the reward and relief of regaining a clean online reputation can more than justify the time and expense. Learn more about the Mark Sherman Law Firm’s pioneering efforts and successes in this emerging area of Connecticut internet scrubbing law.
Wilton Drug DUIs
Additionally, the decriminalization of marijuana in the State of Connecticut, and the fact that you may be licensed for medical marijuana use, has no bearing on whether you may be arrested for a “Connecticut Marijuana DUI / DWI.” These arrests are treated by Norwalk Superior Court prosecutor just like alcohol DUIs. Furthermore, DUI / DWI arrests for marijuana in Norwalk Superior Court can sometimes include the added condition of random drug testing. Unless you have a top Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI criminal law firm who can object and quash the judge’s drug testing order on your side, then you will likely face the hassle and inconvenience of random drug testing throughout your case. See our blog article for more information on how to fight a Marijuana or Prescription Drug DUI /DWI in Wilton Connecticut.
Speak with a Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI Lawyer at Mark Sherman Law Today
An arrest for DUI / DWI in Wilton Connecticut demands immediate action. Motions to protect evidence must be swiftly filed in Norwalk Superior Court, police reports must be quickly gathered and assessed, and your right to appeal the suspension of your driver’s license must be preserved. Achieve the best result possible based on your specific case circumstances by getting an honest, comprehensive appraisal of your case from a Wilton Connecticut DUI / DWI attorney at Mark Sherman Law today.
We will sit with you and help you and your family make the most informed decision on how to proceed with your case. The experienced DUI / DWI lawyers at Mark Sherman Law will assist you every step of the way at competitive rates. Our clients recommend us with enthusiasm on the Avvo.com website — so call a Wilton DUI / DWI criminal attorney at Mark Sherman Law now. We are available to speak with you, 24/7, at (203) 358-4700.