Contact Us
Case Evaluation

    Wilton Domestic Violence Penalties

    Wilton domestic violence penalties vary significantly based on the nature of the criminal charges and the particular circumstances involved. However, all of the domestic violence offenses can be punished with sentences that include significant terms of imprisonment and hefty fines. It may be critical to consult with an experienced domestic violence lawyer as soon as possible to start redirecting the courtroom narrative in your favor.

    An attorney can help you start preserving digital and social media evidence that may help get your case dismissed. Connecticut statutes use the term family violence to describe offenses that are more commonly known as domestic violence and take place between family members, or people in a dating relationship.

    Common Harassment Offenses

    One common offense charged in domestic violence cases is harassment, a crime which has two different versions. Harassment in the first degree is a felony while second-degree harassment in the second degree is a misdemeanor. The more common of the two Wilton arrests for second-degree harassment occurs when an individual communicates via electronic means or any form of writing in a manner that is intended to annoy, alarm, or harass another. This includes repeated phone calls, texts or even hang-up phone calls. This offense is a Class C misdemeanor and those convicted face a sentence of up to three months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

    If the individual has a prior felony conviction and conveys a threat to injure or kill another, the offense may be classified as first-degree harassment, a Class D felony. Wilton domestic violence penalties for first-degree harassment include incarceration for between one and five years and a fine of up to $5,000.

    What is the Impact of Threatening in a Family Violence Case?

    Another common Wilton domestic violence crime is threatening, which also has two different levels of severity. Domestic cases more frequently involve threatening in the second degree, which is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. This offense is defined in the criminal code and consists of placing another in fear of immediate physical harm or the commission of a violent crime.

    Classifying Domestic Violence Charges

    There are three categories of assault arrests under Connecticut criminal law, and the factors involved determine the severity of the offense and corresponding penalty. Assault in the first degree is often referred to as assault with a deadly weapon, and it is classified as a Class B felony. Those convicted of this offense face up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up $15,000. The offense can be even more serious if committed against a pregnant female, with higher minimum and maximum sentences and greater fines.

    Assault in the second degree may be either a Class C or Class D felony, depending on whether serious injuries result. Wilton domestic violence penalties include a minimum sentence of one year in prison up to a maximum of five to ten years and a fine as high as $5000-$10,000. The least serious assault offense–and most commonly charged domestic violence assault crime—in a Wilton Connecticut domestic violence arrest is assault in the third degree, which is considered a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

    Related Offenses

    Family or domestic violence arrests frequently involve a number of other charged offenses. Some of these and the corresponding penalties include strangulation, stalking, violation of a criminal protective order, reckless endangerment, and disorderly conduct. Strangulation penalties can result in imprisonment for one to ten years, and fine up to $10,000. A stalking offense can lead to the imprisonment for up to five years or a fine up to $5,000. Individuals can face between one to five years of prison and a fine up to $5,000. Reckless endangerment offenses can reach up to one year of imprisonment and a fine up to $2,000. A charge for disorderly conduct can lead to imprisonment up to 3 months and a fine up to $500. 

    Contact a Wilton Attorney About Domestic Violence Penalties

    The circumstances of each arrest and Wilton domestic violence penalties will determine which crimes are charged. In turn, the classification of the criminal charge, whether felony or misdemeanor, determines the maximum penalties that may be imposed by a court. How the prosecutor, judge, and jury view the facts of your arrest are critical. That is why anyone arrested in Wilton for a domestic violence charge is advised to act promptly to preserve evidence and craft an aggressive defense in order to present the best possible case. Contact a domestic violence lawyer for more information.